Launch of the UTIA Smith Center for International Sustainable Agriculture

Share on

Read the news release by Knoxville News Sentinel​​

UTIA celebrated the Official Launch of the Smith Center for International Sustainable Agriculture on November 16, 2018. The event was held to honor Donnie and Terry Smith for their transformational gifts to the UT Institute of Agriculture for the establishment of the Smith Chair and the new center. With an overview of ongoing programs, distinguished speakers, live music, and refreshments, the event welcomed nearly 200 UT students, faculty, staff, and guests. ​   Distinguished speakers included UT System President Dr. Joe DiPietro, UTIA Chancellor Dr. Tim Cross, TN Agriculture Commissioner Jai Templeton, and Senior Field Director for Senator Bob Corker,​ Ms. Jane Jolley. View the complete program here.​

Excerpt from UTIA Institutional Advancement​: 

Donnie and Terry Smith have big ideas for solving world hunger – and the couple believe the solution begins at their alma mater. Their generosity began with endowing a chair and culminated November 16 with the official launch of the Smith Center for International Sustainable Agriculture. The Smith Center brings science-based, sustainable agricultural solutions to meet the challenge of nourishing the world’s population while restoring the planet on which we depend. “We are celebrating Donnie and Terry, and their generosity to their alma mater,” said Tom Gill, Smith Center Endowed Chair for International Sustainable Agriculture. “We want to say thank you and celebrate their vision and transformational giving, which is already helping UTIA and global partners meet the challenge of feeding more than 9 billion people by 2050.

Pictures from the Launch of the UTIA Smith Center for International Sustainable Agriculture

2018 International Ag Photo Contest

Attendees of the Smith International Center Showcase (September 27, 2018) voted for their favorite photo. Winners were presented at the Official Launch on November 16th. The two winning photos are shown below.

Ecuador – Lindsay McGeehon

India – Swati Mishra

Watch the Launch follow-up video (produced by UTIA)